How to fake a graduate chartered accountant image!

Posted on Updated on

When my dad got an 11th hour project, a seminar to teach to chartered accountants, I didn’t think I would be needed beyond editing the power point presentation. Little did I know that he would require an “assistant” for the en devour and when I did, all I had in mind was that black, formal skirt I was itching to wear, wear, wear! And then, as we sat in the car, the bomb fell.

I wasn’t going as my dad’s daughter….I was his ‘trainee’ for the next six hours.

Ask a fifteen year old to act her dad’s trainee in the field of finance when she knows nothing close to the matter but what shares are, and she would faint…. but me, I had that gorgeous skirt on and it was windy, so I just decided to go on with it! So I sat my fake-accountant rear in the car, and for the hour long drive assessed my position. When we finally realised it, my dad could just NOT STOP laughing that I would be calling him ‘Sir’ for the remainder of the day!!!

I had a beautiful skirt to flaunt. I had recently lost two kilos so I was looking feminine enough. I have good communication skills and can think up any wild story if needs be. And after all, I do have an excellent poise and winning smile 🙂

Anyone who observed for a few seconds would know that I was PEERING into any mirror I passed! All the time before we reached the center, I was yelling at myself to “ruddy, wipe that stupid grin off my face!”

And then there I was, just in time to find the ‘students’ (from 20 to 40 years!) file out for tea. Gosh, how I enjoyed the gazing- from skirt to face to skirt, with a pause at the slit! and then as it got very beautifully windy, I found myself just starting to swing ( ! ) and I went, “Geez Ruchika, pro conduct! ”

Obviously, I stood, walked and sat at the most strategic positions in the hall. Now that I had made the effort, I wanted the look, and skirt, to be appreciated! And after all the posing and smiling and evading personal interactions, and creating the mystery around ‘that girl in the skirt’, the seminar finally began.

Now I know how boring finance can be, so I’ll spare you the details. But I just sat my fifteen year old rear for the entire four-hour course gazing at the frolic audience, the instructor who was supposed to be my familiar dad, and the car keys. With the painted ‘winning smile’ on my face, I wondered how good dad’s name looked in print, how well the ‘J’ enveloped the ‘U’. And then daddy’s girl got nostalgic.

I slipped into thousands of good skirt-poses, and wished for the Nth time that I had not left my camera at my last vacation (but that’s another tale!) and played with the car-keychain-joint-doll and doodled to my heart’s content. And late as he was, a man walked in after an hour, to my absolute excitement as he looked so much like a long lost friend, I wanted to hug him for making my day! (But with the attire came the formality, thankfully!)

I am proud of my little stunt today! And though I had to make up a fib story just once, I did pretty good. I’m proud especially to evade a mishap, like the Angelina Jolie leg-jut at the Oscars, in my formal skirt excitement!

Because COME ONE, how often does a 10th standard kid go and sit with 30-40 year old chartered accountants and call herself a pro, and NOT GET CAUGHT!!!

Ecstatically,

Ruchika.

17 thoughts on “How to fake a graduate chartered accountant image!

    Puneet Dhamija said:
    April 14, 2012 at 6:10 PM

    I see 🙂 naaaa-ice !

      Ruchika responded:
      April 16, 2012 at 1:54 PM

      Thankyou! Looking forward to as exciting posts on your blog too!

    ankur ashtikar said:
    April 14, 2012 at 6:19 PM

    These kinds o blogs are always attractive.Writing is simply gr8.Thanks for sharing. =D

      Ruchika responded:
      April 16, 2012 at 1:54 PM

      It’s great to get positive reviews from good writers like you, so Thanks!

    Janit Juneja said:
    April 14, 2012 at 6:35 PM

    I love your blog 😀
    i mean your writing made the story all the more interesting 🙂

      Ruchika responded:
      April 16, 2012 at 1:55 PM

      That means so much! Not only the story, but the writing is such an important aspect for the author! Thanks!

    sjshweta said:
    April 15, 2012 at 3:34 PM

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading both your posts! Keep writing! 🙂

    Shine said:
    April 16, 2012 at 6:10 AM

    Well written. Keep writing, Ruchika! Way to go!

    Varun Dabas said:
    April 16, 2012 at 10:56 AM

    its WOW!!!
    may GOD bless u n make u a writer

      Ruchika responded:
      April 16, 2012 at 1:56 PM

      THANKSS VARUN! You liked it, I passed!

    saumya said:
    April 17, 2012 at 11:26 AM

    “excellent poise and winning smile” that aint u..!! 😀 n god……….d skirt’s epic !!!! love it !

      Ruchika responded:
      April 17, 2012 at 3:08 PM

      Yes, yes, that can be subjective! 🙂

    Harshit Nagar said:
    April 17, 2012 at 11:47 AM

    Great!
    Keep Up The Good Work!
    Two Thumbs up!
    one day you are gonna beat :
    William Shakespeare, Agatha Christie and many more.
    And one day someone better than Agatha Christie will be there in a quiz to answer questions about your book and i am sure he will lose.

      Ruchika responded:
      April 17, 2012 at 3:10 PM

      GOSH HARSHIT!!!! That is some thoughtful comment! I do hope my writing would be as intersting, but I have no intention to disappoint an innocent 8-grader with my name! 🙂

    anjali said:
    April 21, 2012 at 6:38 AM

    interesting story, but do i spot grammatical errors here and there?watch out.

      Ruchika responded:
      April 21, 2012 at 7:20 AM

      Yes, yes! Aware of the mistakes myself! 😀

    […] Participated in a rather biased MUN which was fun nonetheless, in the skirt we all know. Remember this? […]

What say you? What thinks you?

