Silver in the Heart -1

Posted on Updated on

There are some people who never need an introduction. He was one of them. He could walk into the room and you would think you had known him forever. And yet, when you went close to talk, as you certainly would, you would find yourself laughing at all the new things he had to say, all the jokes he would crack. And you’d infer that he was “such a homely creature” and that you would be great friends!

I did just that. I saw him at a party January last. I was sitting in the far end of the hall, looking at the girls swishing their dresses, the boys admiring them. And through the mist of people, he made his way across to a table before me. And he reached… and he didn’t sit… and he kept walking…till he reached the chair right beside me, and then he said, “Is this seat taken?”

Now all this time that I had been watching the girls with the swishing dresses and the boys watching the girls swishing their dresses, a friend had been my loyal company. Actually, my first cousin’s best friend, and it was obvious that he was trying to hit on me. At this exponentially fortunate moment, he had gone to get drinks. So I, not very untruthfully, said, “No.”

So he sat there, beside me and smiled. For a long half minute, he smiled. And with my mind screaming not to do something stupid, I smiled back.

“Are you here alone?”

“If you call having a missing cousin and an undecided ride back home being alone, then yes, I am alone.”

“Then I guess there is no way you could disapprove of my company, seeing that you are not interested to dance, and there is, fortunately for me, no one else to engage you at this moment.”

“How can you be so sure that I don’t want to dance mister….?”

“Let’s come to the names a little later. As for the dancing, no person can possibly sit back when they are playing Elton John’s ‘Sacrifice’ and yet say, they want to dance.”

“Point noted. But why aren’t you dancing then?”

“I was just standing by the door wondering what the best strategy to persuade this beautiful lady in the white dress to dance with me would be.”

I suddenly realised how much I loved the colour white, specially when it set me apart from all the other girls, dressed either in red or black. But I had to keep my cool, I could NOT let him get it easy.

“And you decided….?”

“To tell the truth. You see, I find it that the truth tends to make things easy more often than not.”

“Hmm….. Then Mister, in answer to your method of truth, I think I wouldn’t mind this particular beat.”

And as George Michael’s ‘Careless Whispers’ filtered into the room, he led me to the floor and we danced. All night, through the songs, we danced. And the little moment when I slipped, by mistake I swear, passed flawlessly, as he caught me just in time, making it look like a beautiful dip.

God, how I loved it.

13 thoughts on “Silver in the Heart -1

    Ruchika responded:
    April 23, 2012 at 2:02 PM

    As I forgot to mention YET again, this is fiction. Only this time, I plan to continue ths story, and hence the number 1 with the title! Happy reading!

    shivank tathagat said:
    April 23, 2012 at 2:27 PM

    quite interesting ruchika….i m dying to read the next part!!!:)))

      Ruchika responded:
      April 23, 2012 at 2:29 PM

      Just wait till tomorrow!

    Zakk Sangkima said:
    April 23, 2012 at 8:12 PM

    wonder what happens next…keep em coming!

      Ruchika responded:
      April 24, 2012 at 10:31 AM

      In a very short while! πŸ˜€

    bhavika said:
    April 24, 2012 at 11:55 AM

    awesome didi . i too am dying to read the next one :”>

      Ruchika responded:
      April 24, 2012 at 12:46 PM

      Sure, just wait 2 minutes!

    anjali said:
    April 24, 2012 at 1:32 PM

    make it mystery not romance.even tragedy will do, but no mush.
    and icing on the cake will be a twist or two or more.waiting.

      Ruchika responded:
      April 24, 2012 at 1:47 PM

      Someone that flawlessly friendly comes along and just sways you of your feet…. there’s GOT to be something twisted! Can’t say about tragedy or mystery..but read on!

    saumya marwaha said:
    May 1, 2012 at 12:58 PM

    hm….never knew u were into mushy romantic writing…..nyways, its pretty good πŸ™‚

      Ruchika responded:
      May 1, 2012 at 4:41 PM

      Saumya, you know not much!

    radhikagoyal said:
    May 12, 2012 at 4:11 PM

    nice start………….

What say you? What thinks you?

