Silver in the Heart -3

Posted on Updated on

I knew it. I could feel it, down in every cell of my body. Something was wrong.

The disco ball was still spinning… but why was it jerking off and on…. there were still some people in the hall…. where they all staring at me?!… the room was definitely getting darker, it wasn’t this dark when we danced!

My head was spinning, there were little flashes of white zooming inside, creating a a tornado. I tried to focus on Karan, who hadn’t noticed my erratic conversation yet… It felt wrong, WHY hadn’t he noticed it yet? I looked at him and got a blast of white flashes, straining my eyes.

I blinked hard. Till now I had been pretty certain that things were not right, but just as I tried to stand up, my knees just crashed under the un-synchronized weight… I couldn’t feel my limbs, I didn’t know where all that mass hanging on to me was from. Jeez, was I losing my mind? I had almost fallen but someone was supporting me… I was guessing Karan… but I could feel I was too sprawled out for him alone, and soon enough I felt more grips on my arms.

“Alright?…… Hey……at me…… can you…..” I can’t say if they were really saying anything like that or whether I was making it up… it was all so quiet.

Like a good murder-mystery-fan, I looked back at my glass on the table. It was fairly empty… hardly a few drops…. no stirrer, no fruit, nothing…. it was just sitting there with its uselessness- and gone. It was gone! And then a crash, and the horrifying guess that it was MY glass…. Was I – could I be poisoned?

“I’m sorry….slipped and… I know, I am….” Someone was saying…

“Who?…. The gla-” was all I could manage. The lights were blinding me so much, the heaviness in my head so dense and painful, almost wanting to burst my head… And then I could see no more.

In the transient silence of passing from the painful real world, where I would be in a rude position of unconsciousness, my mind calmly enjoyed the blank expanse it got… the nothingness, the peaceful expanse of nothingness…. I could make it a field of poppies if I wanted… or a beach… right here, the mind was the king, not those morose lights…

And it started fading again…. “Did she drink much?” I noted, agonized, that I was hearing clearer…. “I don’t think she did…” The beautiful voice, the familiar voice of Karan….. ” Not with me at least… I really don’t know who she was with before…”

And again, even amidst all this havoc, Ankur hadn’t come to me…. but he wouldn’t freak out, something like this would be just his scene, to save the girl…. Where was he? Was he… was he hurt….

Slam. Something crashed right near my head, spilling water all over my face… and something that pierced my skin here and there too… glass and water…. glass and water?….glass…. and water….. I couldn’t take any information anymore… not to make sense out of it, for sure….

And then, again, I passed out.

9 thoughts on “Silver in the Heart -3

    Ruchika responded:
    April 25, 2012 at 1:59 PM

    What’s going on, do you think? Why this sudden illness, this fall? Is she imagining things? Is something fishy actually happening? Has she, as she guesses, actually been poisoned?! And the mystery about the boy she was with…Ankur…. where is he? Could he….is it possible- that he is behind all this? …..What do you think?

    Scribbled notes blog said:
    April 26, 2012 at 10:52 AM

    hooked,am waiting for part 4 am loving the suspense.

      Ruchika responded:
      April 26, 2012 at 11:06 AM

      That feels good. Wait some while..maybe longer this time.

    bhavika said:
    April 26, 2012 at 12:14 PM

    nice but actually nothing happened . waiting for the mystery to be solved.8->

      Ruchika responded:
      April 26, 2012 at 12:38 PM

      For a writer, this is sooo much happening! Haha, hope you like it as it goes on!

    anjali said:
    May 2, 2012 at 8:05 AM

    the story as i see it so far:
    1)ankur missing
    2)karan interesting, but stranger
    3)sunny has fainted for some reason .
    4)glass and water.why?

      Ruchika responded:
      May 2, 2012 at 12:02 PM

      Just you go on reading, I hope to find you surprised!

    radhika said:
    May 12, 2012 at 4:21 PM

    good going ankur? karan? on top of all sunny?

      Ruchika responded:
      May 14, 2012 at 12:38 PM

      yes, these are the main characters, right now!

What say you? What thinks you?

