Wish On It

Posted on Updated on

This short intervention from the on-going fiction series, ‘Silver in the Heart’, to carry on the blogging part of this… umm, blog!

Wish upon a cotton seed!

It got very windy after school today. Fortunately for me, and not for the boy I replaced on that seat, I had the biggest window all to myself when it started raining, and all the slippery raindrops flew into my face and drenched my shirt!

I was afraid the teacher sitting near-by would scold me about the amount of water I was letting inside the bus, long after everyone else had shut their windows (why, I just can’t imagine) so I pulled it shut leaving the gap I could cover with my body, something like having my cake and eating it too. (Methinks if I speak any more about the rain, I might just forget the actual point behind this post!) So the thing is, from between the little opening, un-battered by the heavy, cannonball-ish raindrops and tornado gale, a cotton seed flew in and sat stupidly on my head.

All that cute, little seed achieve that day, was a very innovative thought sparked off in my mind.. all the things we would wish on, as kids! Without reason, without proof, without any kind of motivation, we just all did wish on anything at all that we say even the tiniest bit of mystery in!

I wished on cotton seeds…. because I never really could understand where the ‘mystical puffs’ came from and where they went.. and I am none the wiser now! Of course, I wished on the fallen tooth.. how would the tooth-fairy KNOW what I want?! (Only except that one time when I used my tooth in a¬† Pepsi test, to see if all those rumours that it corrodes one’s tooth were anything… Nothing, go on drinking!) And there were the usual amount of birthday cakes, Christmas prayers, Late night talks with God, and the shooting stars.

Another things I love wishing on was the eyelashes… there were always so many of them! I don’t know if this is a trend worldwide or not, but here in India it is very common… And we had our own set of rules too to go with the wishing too… You couldn’t pluck them anytime you wanted, (cheating!) they had to be wished on when they fell on their own… You couldn’t wish on someone else’s lash, it won’t work… You MUST NOT tell anyone, it won’t work (seems like more conditions than results)… You must blow it off after wishing, how else was God getting it otherwise?

I have, in the assortment of means, wished for permissions to N-number of things, a piano, a surprise visit from my uncle (!), my next tooth to fall fast so I could wish again soon, and what not.

It has been a ride! A bumper ride! And I have loved it!

Want to tell me about your eccentric wishlist…. or likewise?

One thought on “Wish On It

    Reader said:
    August 12, 2012 at 4:44 AM

    I actually adore this one! You have a knack, your style is fun!

What say you? What thinks you?

