Apologies

Posted on Updated on

The title is an apology. So is this entire post. Because i really do feel sorry. And double sorry now that you are reading this. Because had no one seen my blog this June, this apology wouldn’t have originated in the first place. But stopping all this rambling, I’ll tell you why I apologise.

It’s difficult maintaining a blog. Why’s that? You got to have a flair for writing, or you could very well be writing in a dead journal, and your blog being nothing but sheer waste of blog addresses. You got to have the time, else the flair is lost, which, is a big big big shame. You got to have an audience, which takes so much strength, patience and drive to collect that you just can’t afford losing it. I know just how hard that one is.

And that is why I am sorry. I am going to have to lose my audience. Disappoint readers in 16 countries (I am not showing-off, huh!)…. Why? Because I have to take a  necessary break. Let me tell you a story.

There was once Me. I went to school, played volleyball, worked out, swam, did homework like it or not, helped mom enough to count it here, and WROTE. Happily, relentlessly. I did it everyday, with a  blessed break on Sunday when school was removed from the routine. And through all this, there were some loved ones I dreamt of, thought of, imagined, talked to in imagination, tried to catch on phone, tracked on Facebook, collected presents for, counted days till meeting…

So that’s broadly my life story in one para. Only now, it has changed. The people I dreamt of, thought of, imagined, talked to in imagination, tried to catch on phone, tracked on Facebook, collected presents for, counted days till meeting, are finally here. I am, with them. But the catch is, I must break away from this blog for a while.

I am sorry for having to write this post in the first place. I am very very disappointed to have to break my regular writing delight! But I can’t be sorry for being with my dearies, my girls!!! I can’t possibly be sorry for being with the people I love, and hence not getting the time to blog. At the steep cost of the blog, I choose the vacation. I know I might never regain the audience. But I’ll just have to start at the beginning.

Gosh, I just wrote a blog explaining why I couldn’t write a blog. Sometimes, I surprise even myself with my capacity for nonsense. But then I have always been this cutely-erratic girl ( I swear, I am not usually an egotist. 🙂 ) and I do things I just “feel like”.

Had you asked me any other time, specially when my blog was going good and breezy, I would have said such despo attempts- such naive appeals to one’s readers are plainly ‘idiosyncratic’. I believed that till an hour ago! But then I had to accept that it was going to very difficult taking out an hour from my cousins’ dances, games, piggy rides, bed-jumping and eating schedule to write. (Hey, what you laughing at! It IS tough!)

I read somewhere, not long back, how much we apologise when we shouldn’t. A boss doesn’t like our shirt, out spurts a ready sorry. Someone drops THEIR tray, we say sorry just so. Someone forgets to give US the necessary information, and we go ,”Sorry, I didn’t know that.” I think, as I write this post, how stellar an example this blog post is for the same category. But then i think of my way of writing; Say what you feel (minus the dumb jokes, of course.) I felt bad when I saw the viewership shoot down, and I felt the need to apologise, to show that I wasn’t liking the necessary break- I did.

It wasn’t necessary to write about this. I could have let my audience slip away anyway. But again, that’s not how I work …how this blog functions… This blog is an interaction. A NOTICE was naturally on it’s way!

Last, and as the saying rightly goes, BUT NOT THE LEAST- I thank you.

You just read through nine inches, of me saying sorry. I appreciate it. I do.

I swear I will be back with a bang, ASAP. If you came here through Facebook, please look out for my next link. If you came through WordPress, I’ll soon be back in the circles. If you just crawled on, and if you liked my writing, and would like to keep tabs on upcoming blog-posts, I suggest you click that Follow button. Up there, on the right hand side panel.

If you didn’t like my post, please please please…………… write that down in the comments below. I have to thank you for reading.

So, until then, Hasta la Vista!

7 thoughts on “Apologies

    Puneet said:
    June 4, 2012 at 11:51 AM

    Thanks for the update Ruchika !!

    You just lost a job, remember, I was thinking of hiring you for writing blog for me.. that’s fine and no apologies required, you’re free to take decision based on your priorities, trust me, I don’t see any reason to apologies, if you are happy what you doing, rest doesn’t matter much.

    I am happy that you are doing what you love to do with your time.
    It is YOUR time, who are you apologizing from? hun ?

      Ruchika responded:
      June 6, 2012 at 9:43 AM

      You always did seem to understand what I said and yet find a joke to make out of it! 😀

    Starstone said:
    June 4, 2012 at 6:35 PM

    hehe that’s pretty good, saying you’re sorry like that… Have a nice vacation and I’m sure you won’t lose your readers because you take some time off…

      Ruchika responded:
      June 6, 2012 at 9:44 AM

      i hope not! and btw, i LOVE your blog! and something I genuinely believe and appreciate myself; Keep Writing!

        Starstone said:
        June 6, 2012 at 10:06 AM

        Thank you so much 🙂 You too 🙂

    Harpreet said:
    June 5, 2012 at 6:41 AM

    Be good, be safe & be back soon! 🙂

      Ruchika responded:
      June 6, 2012 at 9:44 AM

      Thankyou! 😀

What say you? What thinks you?

