Not Jacksons Anymore

Posted on

It was morning. I was sitting by the window in Jacko’s room. I had slept in his room yesterday, and this time I hadn’t had to ask. I was thinking about yesterday.

“Dear me!!”, I mimicked Dandy Lizzy from school. “What disasters I can think up, huh!”

I laughed. God, really what had I dreamt up last night?! Twice I had woken up in the dark, with sweat on my brow and fear in my body. Like fever, I had been hot and afraid… afraid that I had dropped a glass jar on daddy’s head.And something about a knife? Geez, was I getting cocky or what!

When I woke up an hour ago, Jacko wasn’t in the room. He wasn’t in the bath, and he wasn’t sleeping. Wherever he had gone, he had locked me in. “Have been acting crazy to him too haven’t you, Jenny Hurricane Jackson?”

I laughed again. Something’s got to be wrong with my head. I felt like laughing so much.

‘Hurricane’ reminded me of mommy. Oh yeah, where was she? I mean, cool as she is, even she should be getting me off to school now, right? I distinctly remember it was Tuesday yesterday.

My head started aching again. Wait- again? Yeah…. yeah, I had this little ache in the night… yeah, I got up once with headache too. Oh boy! Getting up thrice in the night and having nightmares! That’s not like me!

I held my head in my hands. And I sat down and watched out of the window.

There he was! Jacko was coming down the road. Well that meant he wasn’t going to school too. That’s fun. He looked up. I waved. He didn’t wave back back but of course, he was just going to come in.

Within a minute, the lock turned from outside and Jacko pushed the door open.

And that was the end.

Back it all came. The dark. The knife. The cries, the shouts, the fight. The hatred. The fear. Mommy falling down. Daddy with the knife.

Jacko with the pan… Jacko on the floor….

The glass jar. Not like in a dream. No waking up.

The dark. Daddy with the knife.

Out went all the humour, all the laughter. There was nothing funny about Dandy Lizzy anymore. There was nothing happy about anything.

Jacko’s face filled with bruises and scratches…

“Jenny?” he asked.

“Where’s mommy?”

“She’s still sleeping in your bed. I checked on her in the morning. She’s all right.”

“You lock her too?”

“Yeah. I had the key with me all night. You okay, Jenny?”

I looked at him. Okay? What’s okay?

“Of course. You’re not hurt, right?”

Hurt? What’s hurt?

“Okay. Do you want some breakfast?”

Breakfast? “I would like some breakfast.”

Breakfast? Were we really talking about breakfast?

“How will you make breakfast?”

“There’s some bread-”

“We don’t have a kitchen.”

“Jenny?”

“That’s my name. Jenny.”

“Yeah Jenny.. I’ll just go down to the kitchen that we have… in our house and-”

“Our house? We don’t have a house.”

“Jenny what are you saying! You’re on my room, see? My room is in our house. Our house which has a kitchen.”

It’s like Cinderella.”

“What’s like Cinderella?”

“It’s just like Cinderella. She has no family. She has a house but she has no family. And in the day she fights that Captain Kirk is really the hero of Start Trek but it’s all really a game. Because the evil stepmother will get to her. And it will all be over.”

“Whoa! That’s not quite how I remember Cinderella. Now you sit down there. I’ll go and get you a sandwich okay? And we’ll talk about this fine? Jenny?”

“That’s my name. Jenny.”

“Ya. Jenny Jackson.”

“Jenny Jackson.”

Jacko ran out quickly but he asked me one last question.

“You want me to fix you a glass? Want something to drink?”

“I don’t drink.”

And then he left.

_________________________________________

Jacko came back a few minutes later with a vegetable sandwich on a plate and a ketchup smiley on top.

“There you go. Now we aren’t going to school today-”

“Jacko what happened?” I started crying. Hot tears were streaming down my cheeks. I realised things would never be the same again.

“Hey. It’s okay- Don’t cry. C’mon.” He settled in next to me.

“Jacko what happened yesterday?”

“Daddy came home very drunk, Jen and… there was a fight.”

“Did.. did daddy really throw a knife at me?”

“I think so.”

“Why did daddy hit mommy so hard?” I cried.

“He didn’t know what he was doing. He was too drunk.”

“You knew about this, didn’t you? How long has this been going on?”

“Some while… But come on, eat your-”

“Is that why they fight so much? Because daddy drinks?”

“Ya… most of the time.”

“And daddy hits mommy?” I could barely hold my voice.

“Ya. Sometimes he does.”

And then I wiped my tears. Because I really wanted to know something suddenly.

“Daddy doesn’t hit you too does he? He was just too drunk yesterday right?”

“Jenny come on-”

“He doesn’t right? Say it!”

“No. He doesn’t.”

“You’re lying!” I shouted. “That- that sprain- when you didn’t play the school game… it wasn’t because of daddy…”

Jacko looked at me. He moved the sandwich away.

“Look here kiddo. I know you’re very shaken right now. And my face isn’t helping- I mean I probably look like the joker right now but… see…”

And Jacko explained it was all right. He said we’d just get on with our lives and go to school and play baseball and forget all about daddy.

“I mean, we can’t forget about him but we won’t pay much attention.”

And then he stopped talking.

“Mommy and daddy don’t love each other anymore.”

“I don’t know.”

“We’re not a family.”

“Maybe Jenny.”

“Jenny. Just Jenny. We’re not Jacksons anymore.”

Jacko sighed.

“Just like Cinderella.”

Jacko turned towards me.

“Cinderella didn’t have a last name.”

Jacko hugged me tight, and I hugged him back.

3 thoughts on “Not Jacksons Anymore

    Ruchika responded:
    June 29, 2012 at 6:30 AM

    Dear Reader, this is the end of the story ‘Jacksons’. Of course, Jenny moved on. She did what Jacko said. She went to school, and played baseball, and tried to ‘forget’ her father. And it became easy because Tom Jackson started disappearing for days together. Once he came home very drunk and very angry and Jacko and Jenny drove him out. He was found dead in a park the next day.
    Jacko and Jenny did a lot of things in their lives. Like that Trust they set up in collaboration with Jacko’s law firm- The Drink Trust, where they helped alcohol addicts turn to a life of drinking water. As for Mommy Jackson, she married a guy from a local store and didn’t really do much more.
    That is a happy enough ending.

    Bhavika said:
    July 1, 2012 at 3:52 AM

    It’s Amazzz-zing! Specially loved the Cinderella connection!

      Ruchika responded:
      July 1, 2012 at 4:34 AM

      Thank you, Rapunzel!

What say you? What thinks you?

