Rational Man

Posted on

Man is a rational animal, so at least I have been told, throughout my life. I have looked diligently for evidence in favour of this statement, but so far I have not had the good fortune to come across it. On the contrary, I have seen the world plunging continually further into madness. I have seen great nations, formerly leaders of civilization, led astray by teachers of bombastic nonsense. All this is depressing, but gloom is a useless emotion.

Aristotle was the first to proclaim explicitly that man is a rational animal. His unimpressive reason for this view was that some people can do sums.

– George Bernard Shaw, Me Thinks. Do correct me if I indeed am wrong.

I can’t say I wasn’t pleased to find this passage somewhere among all my debris. What is it about this one piece that makes me laugh at the joke and mock at the human race at the same time? There are sooo many critics out there, or pessimists as some prefer to call them, including myself, but it has never quite reached this saturation, has it?

Well, since we are calling man a big bad dungbag, we might just do it complete. Here’s my take on WHY and WHY NOT man deserves this flattering title;

Why Man Is a Stupid Shitbomb of Utter Nonsense:

  • Such generous feelings come into my mind strong and poignant when I ride my cycle home. When you are on a cycle in New Delhi, you notice EVERY pothole, every traffic light, every cut in the dividers, and EVERY bastard who the Driving License guy made a mistake with. Just imagine what One Light Down can mean. In a mere four metre distance on the ground of a place where the traffic light was down, I almost bumped into three cars, almost drove over the divider, almost skid and banged a car door and almost got killed. Not much, just heart-stopping. And I have heard of such complaints only too often to generalise- Man when on the wheel isn’t man at all.
  • “What’s 2+2?” “4, sure!” “Where does the sun rise from?” “East, duh!” “Why are you taking that/tearing that/throwing that/sweeping your dirty table with that/etc, it is mine?” “Oh shut up that hole in your mouth, you insolent lazy shit ass and…” Oh yeah, definitely wackos.
  • And of course the usual- I can kill whatever animal I want. I can do whatever and however and whenever I want, I can’t give a shit if it will kill you. I got a voice box, I’ll scream. I got a window too, I will throw my stuff out of it, even if it lands right inside yours.
  • Religion is so important that we can wage incessant wars. Malnutrition, death by hunger, diseases and crime is no big deal, and we won’t spend a minute there, we could miss our movie.
  • We will have plenty more things to personally want to put to this list, and we’ll agree with almost everything but yet we will read and skip and scroll down and get on with our lives. Because if we commit the heinous crime of only thinking about this just once, we will lose our precious title of louts.
  • We won’t like this post. Nor will we comment. Because we are stick ups. (Don’t mind this one much. Just the impatient blogger in me having a ball.)

Why Man Might not be That Bad:

  • Well I am being very biased if I just go on panning poor dear Homo sapiens like that. Everyone is frustrated! Just because I have a nice little blog to my disposal doesn’t mean I get to take it out like that. Okay, it does, but I shouldn’t. Because that time when the traffic signal was down, one gentleman kindly switched off his car and waited for the ruckus ahead to clear and then he moved.
  • Thanks to Human Rights leaders and Lawyers and Social Sciences teacher, who STILL make me romanticise with the idea of an ideal society, and the belief that everything might just turn out all right.
  • There’s no counter to those who think they own the world. But it is definitely an ease to know such idiots are few. New York, I think, reflects that. RANGE. That should be the motto of that place or something. There’s always some one who will think differently, which means that there will always be someone who will think BETTER.
  • There’s a huge role of writers in maintaining worldwide peace. I have never believed that wars are fought by soldiers, but actually the democrats and diplomats behind them. And writers thin the need substantially. The war of words versus the war on ground has long been a favourite theme, and I’m proud to say that writers have since been saving the world.
  • There are different ‘groups’ out there, different ‘classes’ or we might as well call it different ‘categories’ of people. Not that I profess it, there just are. Educated, illiterate, Lawyer, Banker, Optimist, Sadist, King, Slave…. Pervert, Pervert. These will remain just as they are for too long, I know. But I also know that pinch any of these hard, and they will squeal the same. Put a gun to either’s head, and the fear will be the same. Get to love any, and the passion will be the same. Everyone may not be so different after all.
  • The last and most important reason that makes me prefer this list is that I have been shown just WHY man is beautiful. And even though there are times only too often when I want to strangle someone so urgently and so hard, I don’t do it. Because I know this one thing. And it would be a lot of trouble. Anyway, this is it- the beauty of Man- Imagine a person who is so inhuman and so cruel and so so bad that he makes your life hell, drives you into the most mind boggling of situations, becomes the cause of your death, and then later is also responsible for demolishing your grave. And that’s after he’s ruined your name in the world. He’s killed you not only physically, but in every other sense a person can be alive. He’s like Hitler crossed with a dumb Man-eating dino crossed with the alter ego of Gandhi. Okay, here’s the beauty of it all- One day, sooner or later, they will ……….. die. Rejoice. And EVEN IF they die with a good name and a chapter in the history books, THEY WILL BE FORGOTTEN. And if you must insist that that’s not good enough, start believing in  ghosts and hope to become one to come and personally drive that person to the grave. Have a grand day!

Most probably, coming up next: My take on an article I read called ‘Laughter panacea’. My guess is it will be pretty passionate. Excuse me now, I got to go Google the meaning of ‘panacea’.

7 thoughts on “Rational Man

    pdham said:
    July 13, 2012 at 3:55 AM

    Alright! I clicked ‘like’ – just to prove you wrong 😉

    and.. . I liked the post that you could put both sides of Man, that is nice.

    Now, time to leave a comment:

    Man is basically good, no matter what any religion says – rule one!

    Man is trying to survive – rule two!!

    Man is trying to be right all the time – rule three!!

    If it makes sense so far, keep reading . . . .

    Man is trying to survive – not alone but among other Dynamics – self, family, group, mankind, all living species, physical universe, spiritual being and the God.

    No, you don’t have to agree with the above equation, but see, if answers your concern.

    Human mind is the best computer ever built to solve problem relating to one’s survival i.e. it never makes mistakes, so, how come, you see everyday actions and intentions demonstrating otherwise, good question? still reading ?

    A computation of a computer is as good as its data, ever heard of GIGO? Garbage In, Garbage Out.

    If one is operating on some false data e.g. girls are not good in Mathematics, blonds are stupid, blacks eat human being, all dogs are dangerous, all police are corrupts, all Indian are ‘smart’ or otherwise etc. etc. – the computation based on such data will be as ‘sane’ as you could image.

    Where does these ‘false data’ enters the computer – baaaammnn.. !! Pain – the moments of pain are recorded in ‘reactive mind’ and makes ones react – also to make one right – despite the fact what you should be doing logically, you do something else – and to make to ‘alright’ you repeat it, give me some examples of that . . .ok, let me try . . instead of doing school homework, I prefer flying kite or play table-tennis and to make it ‘alright’ – keep doing it, same applies to rash driving, swearing, ‘getting angry’ – and you name it.

    Ok, we see the problem – Solution – order and read a book – ‘Dianeitcs: Modern Science of Mental Health’, written in 1950, still hold true, I suggest, order the Dianetics DVD too, it consists of 2 DVDs, 1.5 hours and 2.5 hours – you’ll have the answers!

    Man is not an animal, it is spiritual being, using body to survive . . it is not covered in the above book, Dianetics is just the beginning, it’s an adventure, treat it like an adventure and you may never be the same again!

    What say you? What thinks you? :-))

      Ruchika responded:
      July 13, 2012 at 6:34 AM

      Yeah, I totally got all of that! Sure! Literary scholar already! Yeah, about that, of course, you are so right! And THAT- of course not! I totally disagree, I mean , how is it possible? I oppose that one so much that I dont even find areas to argue on! And THAT! Bravo! So right!
      Ok, lameness apart, I didn’t get all of it, but then I never did, not until I read twice or frice or twenty-ice so I’ll just do that. But that part I did get- GIGO. Yeah, I’ve pretty much survived on that for some time. I get the rules.. all that surviving and things. Add one more- Man is constantly trying to make logic out of everything. He (or she) is obsessed with needing a reason behind everything. It makes him (or her) feel things are in control and there are not things going around that are above him (or her).
      Another thing I think I get- “Human mind is the best computer ever built to solve problem relating to one’s survival i.e. it never makes mistakes, so, how come, you see everyday actions and intentions demonstrating otherwise, good question? still reading ?” You say it never makes mistakes. But I am very convinced it does. There’s a huge chance here I’m getting it all wrong. Okay, so I say it does. Which means our supposition is wrong and human mind is probably not the best computer after all.
      I’ll rerererere-read the rest and reply. Thanks, your cmnts have always been fascinating! 😀

      Ruchika responded:
      July 13, 2012 at 6:34 AM

      Yeah, I totally got all of that! Sure! Literary scholar already! Yeah, about that, of course, you are so right! And THAT- of course not! I totally disagree, I mean , how is it possible? I oppose that one so much that I dont even find areas to argue on! And THAT! Bravo! So right!
      Ok, lameness apart, I didn’t get all of it, but then I never did, not until I read twice or frice or twenty-ice so I’ll just do that. But that part I did get- GIGO. Yeah, I’ve pretty much survived on that for some time. I get the rules.. all that surviving and things. Add one more- Man is constantly trying to make logic out of everything. He (or she) is obsessed with needing a reason behind everything. It makes him (or her) feel things are in control and there are not things going around that are above him (or her).
      Another thing I think I get- “Human mind is the best computer ever built to solve problem relating to one’s survival i.e. it never makes mistakes, so, how come, you see everyday actions and intentions demonstrating otherwise, good question? still reading ?” You say it never makes mistakes. But I am very convinced it does. There’s a huge chance here I’m getting it all wrong. Okay, so I say it does. Which means our supposition is wrong and human mind is probably not the best computer after all.
      I’ll rerererere-read the rest and reply. Thanks, your cmnts have always been fascinating! 😀

    pdham said:
    July 13, 2012 at 9:56 AM

    Ok!

    If you got the GIGO concept. .. computation is right – data is not! ( and that makes computation wrong )

    And computation is affected by the data ! Is it hard to understand ?

    Ok, look are you calculator, it never makes mistakes.. but if you have an kid next to you while you trying to compute who keep punching in 7, no matter what you compute, it will have the error factor of 7, got that?

    Now, that ‘data’ is making the computation ‘wrong’.

    Another example. . . religion, say one religion does not make sense to one, or even worse, it was kind of abusive (not sure if you remember we had blood shed in the name of religion in India in 1984) – now that ‘experience’ makes every religion that much ‘unacceptable’ – making sense?

    One accident, one slap from a teacher, one bite from a dog, one fall from a height, one ‘heart-break’ etc. runs the whole computer running like – ‘stupid computer’ – but is it?

    My father told my sister, many many times “Mathematics is not for girls” / “girls are not good in Mathematics” – result, she left Mathematics in her XI class . . but still wanted it on her marksheet, two years later.. I taught her for 2 months and she got the same marks as my brother got after 2 years of study.

    So, the data “Mathematics is not for girls” / “girls are not good in Mathematics”, was incorrect, totally and that made the computer computer – leave the subject, do you see?

    Not sure, which part you got, and which part of my comment you didn’t, anyways.. I will end this with the following:

    “War doesn’t determine who is right, but who is left.” and

    check the website: http://www.dianetics.org

      Ruchika responded:
      July 13, 2012 at 10:54 PM

      War doesn’t determine who is right, but who is left! WOW! I am so glad to hear all this. And I am checking out the sight in parts these days. Will let you know what I like or want to know more about. Thanks ‘uncle’! (P.S. I don’t think the quotation marks around uncle will ever go away. 😀 It’s like our own pvt old joke. Only it’s not really funny.)

        pdham said:
        July 22, 2012 at 12:30 PM

        Hi there..

        so, how’s going with the site ?

          Ruchika responded:
          July 23, 2012 at 3:29 AM

          Went through the courses offered, not inclined to that. Heard some experiences, and saw some vids.

What say you? What thinks you?

