To Be On a Newspaper

Posted on Updated on

I had, very patriotically, originally decided to write a post today on India, it being our 65th Independence Day today- the 15th of August. However, something happened as I went through my Facebook page, browsing through today’s general euphoria, and tacky jokes and cartoons, seeing my friends go crazy with Independence Day celebrations, and flying kites, as has been our tradition. (Notice the brilliant metaphorical picture- flying kites… flying to freedom!)

And when I saw that one thing that made my day, and delayed the patriotic post, I literally leaped out of my chair, and flinging my arms high, shouted a great whooping ‘YES!” My mom got scared for a moment. But then she did a similar ejaculating rumble, when I told her…

“I won it! Remember I wrote that answer for a question asked by the newspaper Hindustan Times? I won the Best Response! I am on their page, wait- it’s Wednesday! Where’s the newspaper?! I AM ON THE NEWSPAPER!!!”

And so it is. I have just won a Best Response on a National Daily, my name is printed, in bold orange, in the newspaper sitting right beside me, and I am waiting for my prize- Gabriel Garcia Marquez’ One Hundred Years Of Solitude!

But I must tell you the whole truth-

The newspaper asks a question every week (Weekly Question, of course.) So there must be 52 winners every year. I am just one of them. But I’m happy because this is the first time I wrote and hey, I won!

Of course I am giving you the question, and answer. I must also mention, they had to edit my answer a leetle bit when they published it. 😀

Question

Should all fast food and colas be banished from college canteens? Why or why not?

My Original Answer 😀

Anyone with a an ear knows its dangerous to consume fast food, specially regularly. However, banning these and colas from college canteens is not a solution. Firstly, Banning rarely achieves much. There are ample vendors to buy from outside the campus and these sellers choose their locations well. Secondly, health cannot be pushed on by rules. It’s an internal choice. By the time one gets to college, one becomes either of the following- very health conscious, not caring at all, keeping fit but indulging sometimes. The first category doesn’t care where, or if, the fast food is available. The second category might revolt if fast food is banned but they will find their ways. The third category, hence, is the only one actually affected. A point to be noted is that no one LIVES on canteen food. Seriously, if we made it to college, we are smart enough to know that. So canteen food is like a break. And for that, we could improve the standard of the food available, but banning it is plain idiocy.

What They Printed

Can’t say anything to them, I did put in a LOT 😀 And God knows how they could publish such a vociferous response in it’s entirety!

Banning these and colas from college canteens is not a solution. Firstly, banning rarely achieves much. Secondly, health cannot be pushed on by rules. It’s a personal choice. By the time one gets to college, one becomes either of the following- very health conscious, not caring at all, keeping fit but indulging sometimes. The first category doesn’t care where, or if, the fast food is available. The second category might revolt if fast food is banned but they will find their ways. The third category, hence, is the only one actually affected. We could improve the standard of the food available, rather than just banning junk food.

Ah! What it feels like, to have one’s face printed in a national daily! The game continues- now for a picture!

4 thoughts on “To Be On a Newspaper

    Starstone said:
    August 15, 2012 at 2:32 AM

    congratulations 🙂 it must be awesome 🙂 and just because there are other winners over the year, doesnt mean that your win means any less 🙂 well done 🙂

      Ruchika responded:
      August 15, 2012 at 6:03 AM

      My grandparents are thrilled to see my name in print! They are deciding which magazines to get the article reprinted in. The shortlist is our apartments’ mag, and grandpa’s bank mag! 😀

    saumya marwaha said:
    August 15, 2012 at 7:23 AM

    congratulations girl !!! this is AMAZING !!! proud of you 😛

      Ruchika responded:
      August 16, 2012 at 8:54 AM

      I am too. 😀

What say you? What thinks you?

