Share or Die

Posted on

As I sit here wondering how stupid I could be to not clarify that doubt on the Shakespeare post, about his sexuality affecting his credibility, I find today’s story. You see, this is one of the best controversies I ever came across in my life, and I remember spending considerable time when I was really very young, deciding whether I should believe it or not.(In fact, it may be one of my earliest decisions. Like, before choosing my favourite colour.)

Have you heard those tales of people dying by unjust ways and their ghosts coming back for sweet, and very bloody, revenge? And if you commit the mistake of not sharing their story when you read it, and hence defile their memory, you too will die that night, always in the darkest dark? Yep, that’s what I am talking about.These stories usually are pretty scary. And when I saw the following text in a comment on Facebook, the memories came back.

(The comment has not been modified, barring grammatical errors of spelling. Really don’t want more of that on my blog, and I make many.)
ONCE YOU’VE READ THE FIRST WORD OF THIS YOU CANT GET OUT. READ ON OR DIE TONIGHT AT 10:35 P.M.

9 years ago a person named Jerry got dared to sleep in a house that was believed haunted.The next day his friends waited for him outside the house. They had to go inside and search for him. They went through every room exept the attic. He wasn’t supposed to sleep there. He was supposed to sleep in the living room. They went into the attic. They saw Jerry’s corpse and they just left because they were scared. But that night they all died because of their friend. He killed them all for making him sleep in that house

If you don’t send this to 11 comments you will die tonight by Jerry. Example 1:A man named Stewart Read this and didn’t believe it. He shut off his computer and went through his day. That night while he was in bed he heard something outside of his door. He got up to look. And now he’s dead. Example 2: A Girl named Haley Read this in the morning and she got scared but she didn’t send it. She wanted to know if it was true. She went to school (She was only 13 years old) and that night she died.

If you don’t post this on 11 comments tonight Jerry will ‘visit’ your house.

Okay, if some of you need to take a break and go post this, I understand.

Back?

Okay. So when I was arguing my stand on these matters, I finally decided that I will NOT be ruled by such notices that do nothing but invoke fear, and since then have never once shared any story. And here I am, alive and sound. Though who knows, I may be pushing my luck? But I refuse to let myself be carried away by rumours. If you got to kill me because I’m sensible, dear ghost, you really are full of it.

But fear, and religion I dare to say, have long been the “opium of the masses”. (Karl Marx :D) So I can’t judge the people who do share such comments.

However, the deathly stronghold such comments have! Marvellous! I can not boast of complete fearlessness myself, even with my conviction against such rumours. They ARE pretty scary.

And even my very able very smart cousin was once hell-bent on the existence of Bloody Mary. And this cousin we are talking about is actually so intelligent, she convinced me not to pull out a red colour-pencil in the dark ever or write in red in the bathroom. God, I dreamt CHILLING dreams that night. And with a vivid imagination, that MEANS something! Great job, Pakhi, you got your sister!

So check this space tomorrow. Either you will find a short update, with me gasping of how I made it, Thank Lord if he/she exists, or, if you really do not find any post, consider I pushed my luck too far and am very much taken, finally.

No sweat!

7 thoughts on “Share or Die

    Emily said:
    August 21, 2012 at 8:27 AM

    Great Post. I really like your writing.

      Ruchika responded:
      August 22, 2012 at 9:12 AM

      Thanks Emily! I appreciate that. In case you want to get in touch or have anything to ask about the blog, just email me at ruchika1717@yahoo.in.
      😀 See ya!

    The Good Greatsby said:
    August 21, 2012 at 9:45 AM

    I tried to make my kids sleep in a haunted house to teach them a valuable lesson about something.

      Ruchika responded:
      August 22, 2012 at 9:16 AM

      The things I have read about your kids! And what you do with them… I am sure they are going to be something else altogether when they grow up. 😀
      Extremely happy to see you here, Paul!

    Starstone said:
    August 21, 2012 at 3:50 PM

    LOL well, thanks for sharing it after all, and getting us all killed…. because I’m not posting it either…. so I guess we’ll both drop dead soon….

    and since you DID share it, I doubt Jerry will be coming after you… 😛

      Ruchika responded:
      August 22, 2012 at 9:18 AM

      Oh right! I totally missed that! but thank goodness i have frends with such shrewd eyes and such great brains. Seriously, i can never doubt u after that hillflower story. Man, that was sth. Anyway, I LIVE! And since you took the trouble to like my post, veronica, i am sure jerry will spare u too. i’ll drop in a word anyway. 😀

        Starstone said:
        August 22, 2012 at 5:39 PM

        hehe I forgot about him until now… but still kickin, so I guess he was just too busy to come get me 😉

What say you? What thinks you?

