Miss Touch Me Not

Posted on

There she was.

Walking with her arms wrapped tightly around her books, picking her way carefully through the crowd. Snobbish, ever so snobbish. She acts as if she would wilt if one of us touched her. Mean, mean lady. Miss touch me not.

Look, there she goes!

Holding her gym kit, standing at the end of the corridor, waiting for the cheerleaders to move, before she walked forward. Jealous, ever so jealous. She acts like she would wilt if one of them touched her. Mean, mean lady. Miss touch me not.

On her own at the table, I see.

See how she picks at her food with scorn? Maybe it’s not good enough for her. Of course! Prepared by the school staff, how could she eat it?! Pompous, ever so pompous. She acts like she would wilt if she ate our food. Mean, mean lady. Miss touch me not.

Let’s see what she does tomorrow.

At the other end of the canteen, at a table by herself…

Alone again.

I tried to talk to him in the morning, but he went off with his buddies. I got scared. Maybe they don’t like me. Maybe no one wants to talk to me. I went away to class, quickly.

Alone again.

I wanted to tell her I loved how she went to the top of the pyramid. I wanted to learn, maybe she could coach me? But before I could ask, they picked up their kits and went away. Maybe they don’t like me. Maybe no one wants to talk to me. I went to class, quickly.

Alone again.

I decided to go sit with them. But just as I entered, they stopped talking. I could feel their gaze on me, follow me to this table at the end of the hall. Maybe they don’t like me. Maybe no one wants to talk to me. I want to go back to class, quickly.

Maybe I won’t come to school tomorrow.

The next day, when she doesn’t, They say-

Mean, Mean Lady.

2 thoughts on “Miss Touch Me Not

    arthurdilibe said:
    August 23, 2012 at 8:59 AM

    wow, I guess there’s always two sides to the story…nice potrayal:)

      Ruchika responded:
      August 23, 2012 at 10:06 AM

      Thanks! And yes, I have often noticed these two sides, and I love to talk about them. Pending- a satire on the same, really ironical an incident!

What say you? What thinks you?

