Why Chan?

Posted on Updated on

I love the martial arts.

So what I can’t stand a film like Return to the 36th Chamber or take all that ‘Ooh-Ah!’ for more then a few minutes? So what I never find one kung-fu film very different from the other? So what I don’t melt on Bruce Lee’s eight-square-pack abs?

I love the martial arts.

The swift movements. The dance-like fighting. The no dependence. The rush in the body. The power felt in every cell. The sheer magic.

Everyone’s heard of martial art greats. Bruce Lee, Jet Li, Brett Lee….

Sorry? Not Brett Lee? Are you sure.

What was that? He’s a bowler? Yeah, he balls great hits!

No? In cricket? Let me see…..

Yeah… Too many emotions on his face.

But my favourite is Chan. Jackie Chan. Here’s why-

Jackie Chan
Frustration? Yeah. Depression? No way! Dejected? You kidding?
  1. They keep killing his uncles and ants and friends. He kills them back without having to make shrink visits.
  2. He was the first to add humour to his kung-fu. His moves are as good, but he takes a joke or two on his expense. Look carefully sometime, that is really how kung-fu maintains an audience.
  3. He looks good even when the baddie is strangling the air out of him. Or hanging him upside down.
  4. His accent in English is alien, but easy to accept. That’s called gelling in without changing at all!
  5. He never walks out of the scene scot-free. The usual scratch, cut, fracture and ambulance is included.
  6. Even if you hate the movie, it’s all worth it because they show the behind the scenes afterwards. Even Hitler would agree he’s great fun!
  7. Jackie Chan is, without doubt, the real humour icon. I mean, keep him on one side, and all your comedians- Adam Sandler, Ben Stiller, Eddy Murphy, Owen Wilson, Chris Rock, Martin Lawrence, Kristen Stewart- on the other. He wins, he wins hands down!

I could argue with you all day! (All day being hypothetical really, I don’t have all day- my Half Yearlies are here. In fact, I don’t even have half days… )

But I’d win in the end. I mean, ask Chan to pull no expression, just stand.

Jackie Chan
Huh? *This is me giving you the death look*

COME ON!

Jackie Chan
He. He. 🙂 I know.

Jackie Wins. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Why Chan?

    bhavika said:
    September 28, 2012 at 8:18 AM

    nice ! fun and of course jackie chan will win !!!

      Ruchika responded:
      September 28, 2012 at 11:22 AM

      Yea! Just need to watch Rush Hour for that! 😀

What say you? What thinks you?

