Got to find you

Posted on

About time I posted this for your reviews. I wrote it about two years back. It includes certain changes my teacher put in, without which it’s sounds ever so vulgar. 🙂

I love sugared donuts. I tell him that. I see him walk over to the M.O.D window. There is a short queue there. I have a few minutes to myself before he returns with our donuts and commences talk of how this gorgeous California girl once got him drunk. I pick the menu from the table nearby. I look at my hands, the spaces between my fingers, where yours fit so perfectly. Instantly, I remember…

I remember our first date- your and mine. You took me to the movies. We decided on Dirty Dancing but the moment we were in the hall, I just didn’t feel like it anymore. Did you see I was scared of the dark, of the mystery?

But without one word of offense, you just smiled and led me out and we walked down to McD. Remember how I sat on Old MacDonald’s lap all sophisticated and you had to loosen me up?

My eyes blurr. I look at him. He’s still in queue. He’s talking to a girl I saw in the video store a few minutes ago. I see she’s enjoying. She doesn’t see it but he’s warming her up. I look at the menu in my hand.

Who cares if their Tuesday special is Spanish Margarita? Once again, nostalgia envelopes me like the aroma of freshly brewed coffee.

After a lot of laughter and four pictures on and around Old MacDonald, we were returning to the Plaza. Again, you just smiled when I said let’s watch the movie. Did you see it then? My trust?

But just when we were outside the door, we realised they would never let us in again. We decided to make a dash for it. Oh god! How I ran up the stairs with you tugging behind! You shouted to me that we were spotted. Their guy was after us.

We burst in the halls’ corridor but we hid behind the Refreshment Counter. The point was to play with the guy behind us. He ran in just as we cuddled up and without one look around, ran into the first hall.

That day we were only discovered because we couldn’t stop laughing when we saw his expression after having checked all the halls…

He returns. The girl is with him. As they take their seats, and he pulls one for her, he says, “This is Kate. She was with me in eighth grade, and how dumb of me, I don’t even remember her! But Kate here, she has the memory like an elephant’s. Take my word for it; now that she has seen you here, she won’t forget you till she hits her deathbed!”

Kate giggles with him. I look at my donut. It’s blue. Sugar isn’t blue. He sees the expression on my face.

“They were out of sugared ones so I got us blueberry- my favourite.” I must have been staring because he says, “You don’t like blueberry?” I look at Kate. I look at my donut. Finally, I look up.

Oh gawd! WHAT am I doing here? Why am I with him?!

Goodness, no!

I have got to find you.

6 thoughts on “Got to find you

    saumya marwaha said:
    September 21, 2012 at 6:03 AM

    hey..i’ve read this one 🙂 and i had loved it back then as well..!!

      Ruchika responded:
      September 22, 2012 at 5:21 AM

      I still think Mr Style and Lady is better, and many more! But WHY does everyone like this one?!

    thirdoracle said:
    September 21, 2012 at 10:12 AM

    Your best work yet. I loved it. I really could read it again and enjoy it again. Really good Lexxie

      Ruchika responded:
      September 22, 2012 at 5:23 AM

      We disagree.. for the first time is it? I really don’t like it that much, and it took a sever mental block for em to post it! 😀 But turned out for the good…. so, I shouldn’t complain!

    bhavika said:
    September 22, 2012 at 7:12 AM

    nice one didi !!! i don’t know why you don’t like it !

      Ruchika responded:
      September 23, 2012 at 5:14 AM

      I don’t know. Maybe it’s too flippant for me. But since I WROTE it, I shouldn’t dislike it so much 😀

What say you? What thinks you?

