Dates

Posted on

Dates invoke all kinds of reactions.

Some live by dates- “23rd I gotta go to the barber, 24th gotta meet Ike, 25t is it someone’s birthday?”

Some people hate dates- “live each day like there’s no tomorrow! So don’t leave something for a later date! Don’t put things away! Fall in love today and marry today! Okay, maybe don’t do that, but don’t put it on a calendar!”

Some people manage to stand straight in the middle of all that ideological gymnastics. Yes, I want to remember important dates and No, I don’t still LIVE by dates.

We have all sorts of dates that we call ‘important’. Birthdays, anniversaries, holidays and for me, countdown days, to many big goals.

Some of us remember these important days by circling the calendar all sorts of colors, some of us have hot phones that do the job, some of us, a rare lucky few, have awesome brains that remember EVERY thing they once heard. (Really, my friend… I told her ONCE, mentioned casually ticking off things in my To Do List, that a friend had his birthday later that week and now? She remembers his name, his birthday AND what I decided to surprise him with. Great! So I can’t remember all my friends’ birthday and she remembers hers AND mine!)

Dates. Dates all around. Dates in the past, dates in the future, definitely in the future until some wise guy puts a limit to the counting. Imagine, 25th December 927873o4803 (year). Do you think Christmas would be big deal then? I don’t. But then I can’t imagine green-skinned three-toed typical aliens giving a shit about Christmas.

Okay, back to this post. I am writing about dates today because 29th means a good deal to me. Never in my life have I come across a more useless thing as the number 29. No reason. Just never liked the number. And then last month, on the 29, a miracle happened, like a Superman-landing-on-Earth miracle, and since then 29 has been bringing all sorts of mixed feelings!

So this 29th, this awfully confusing date, 🙂 I wish you all a very happy time with all dates, forever. Cause that’s just a way of saying that you have a hell of a time everyday!

And as to dates, yeah sure, forget all the calendar days like Full Moon (not for werewolves) and Columbus Day (not for Columbus’ family) but surely, DON’T forget birthdays!

Oh and PS. Carpe Diem 🙂

 

7 thoughts on “Dates

    thirdoracle said:
    October 29, 2012 at 6:42 AM

    Couldn’t have been any better:)

      Ruchika responded:
      October 29, 2012 at 6:47 AM

      😀

    Starstone said:
    October 29, 2012 at 7:00 AM

    oh werewolfs keep track on the full moon more than anyone else 😉 hehe

      Ruchika responded:
      October 30, 2012 at 5:44 AM

      🙂 Letting you in on a little secret. So do vampires. Think think think! Why would ‘they’ do that? 🙂

        Starstone said:
        October 30, 2012 at 1:14 PM

        vampires? hmm… I have no idea? 🙂

          Ruchika responded:
          October 31, 2012 at 10:16 AM

          How do you think the vampires are out there, at just the scene for a little werewolf-rivalry fight every single time the werewolves change or have a big major plan? Because they track the werewolf calendar too 🙂 And now I’m being freakishly, un-me-ly partisan to vampires.

            Starstone said:
            November 1, 2012 at 2:19 AM

            I can’t believe I never thought of that… bastards… werewolf stalking bastards…. 😛

What say you? What thinks you?

