My Son, You Taught Me To Survive

Posted on

I’m grateful my son for all that you’ve done

Though I taught you to live, you taught me to survive

 

When I walked the gravel road

I bartered acquaintances with smiles

I bought people with laughter

I built my world by walking miles

 

When I set you down the gravel road

You bartered friends with interests

You bought people with dependence

You built your world by trading right

 

And if I may ask who taught you

Such obscenities such inhumanity

I’m but being a fool my lad

And horror struck now I understand

 

For my way you would have reached the first rung

And your honesty would only go till there

But you cleverly twisted and you learnt

That’s not how in this world you should fare

 

So I’m grateful my son for all I’ve seen you do

And done

So what that I taught you to live?

You taught me to survive and make it big.

 

 

5 thoughts on “My Son, You Taught Me To Survive

    shubhangi dayal said:
    November 3, 2012 at 9:54 AM

    my parents make me do a crime everyday
    by not letting me read ur blog
    ……
    yesterday some one asked me about my idol ….
    and i think i got one …
    THAT’S U GAL ……..
    😀

      Ruchika responded:
      November 4, 2012 at 12:25 AM

      Awwwww thanks so much Shubhi!!! Meet you tomorrow, and talk lotss! 😀

      Ruchika responded:
      November 4, 2012 at 12:25 AM

      Awwwww thanks so much Shubhi!!! Meet you tomorrow, and talk lotss! 😀

    anjali said:
    November 15, 2012 at 9:18 PM

    that was mind bogglingly awesome(though i have yet to digest the fact that u actually wrote it) and it will take some time to fully understand it(i have only read it a dozen times!!)
    i don’t know what to think,marvel at the wonderful twist of words or focus on the dark ,negative and sad undercurrent.

      Ruchika responded:
      November 16, 2012 at 5:40 AM

      🙂 If you caught the dark, negative and sad undercurrent, I’m sure you did understand it! 🙂 Thanks! 🙂

What say you? What thinks you?

