These Are Crazy Days!

Posted on Updated on

It is the worst of days. I am certain I have at least fifteen kilos in my backpack today, and ten kilos is stuff I have to submit for evaluation that is not quite complete. (I go to school :)) (And the school gives homework πŸ˜‰ )

My friend is ill, and believe me she is MISERABLE when she’s there. I can suggest things that benefit her, but she yearns to be a doctor and has Ifs and Buts for everything I may have to say. Obviously, she’s been through the list already.

Plus, it’s a rainy day, and I love the rain… but I’m stuck in the middle of the classroom, too far from the windows for my liking… so I’m working out who’s seat to beg, borrow or steal…

That’s just the atmosphere of the whole thing… there are still more important matters that are worrying me… Oh goody, they all come under one heading- Grades. πŸ˜‰

I get good grades. I want good grades. If I don’t get good grades I must have tried not to get them. It’s like that.

So this semester, when I’m not getting very great grades and I didn’t particularly “ask for it”… I’m at war. Why the hell have I lost marks like this?

Let’s talk about the GK Paper. (Yep, we still have those… Neolithic huh πŸ˜‰ )

There’s this question, and it has four options. The usual. Tick mark the correct option, and get marks if it’s right. Simple. Though sometimes I wonder if correct means correct-correct or what-will-be-accepted-correct. But anyway, here’s the Q…

Statement: Military training should be made compulsory in schools.

Person A: Yes, because every person has the right to protect his country.

Person B: No, because one should not indulge in violence.

Whose viewpoint is correct?

So that was the Question. And here are the four options to choose from…

A- Person A

B- Person B

C- Neither

D- Both

Now think a moment. It’s a twisted Q with twisted opinions, and frankly, they are asking whose viewpoint IS CORRECT. So I understand if you wanna roll your eyes. Yeah right, dictate viewpoints now. And think about us kids, who had to actually ANSWER what the CORRECT viewpoint was. Wonder how they claim they don’t wanna make homogenous robots out of us then. πŸ˜›

Anyway.. hope you’re still thinking. So either form an opinion or go along with me..

So.. what I thought… and whatever answer you form of your own, PUT IT IN THE COMMENTS PLSSS

I thought: Military training, schools, compulsory. We’re talking of a pretty dictatorial regime. So I can safely kick out Person A’s idea… and anyway, rights should mean an option, a freedom to want to protect the country, Not making it compulsory… As to Person B, had you not given me the statement, I would have still disagreed. Sure violence should not be indulged in. But tell that to all the armies of all 191 countries that await standing instructions. Too ideological.

So there goes my vote to Option C- Neither.

And there goes a huge cross out. It’s wrong? So what’s right?

Option A they say. Why?

Wait for it…

Because the book..

..from which they got the Q…

says so.

Oh ok. But why?

Because it says so.

And that’s the end of the matter. I ask one more question, and it becomes a Question To Authority. And I certainly can’t afford that what with the hugessst exams of the year coming up.

(It’s not always so unfair. Just that this test I lost a hefty four marks on things like this, and I’m pretty pissed.)

Enter another test. Last for this post. English.

Not a good result again. But why not… man, it’s almost murderous.

I think my teacher doesn’t know the meaning of ‘per se’. That’s perfectly okay… But it gets excessively awkward when I have to go and tell her…. She’s the teacher after all..

:O

I like that teacher. 😦 She’s sweet. And that would be mean of me…

So I sulk and live with it, but don’t go and claim the arks I have lost for that “jumble” (since she didn’t understand what the words were..)

But we are both disappointed with my paper. She says she was expecting more from me. But that’s okay. I was from her too. πŸ˜‰

(Peeps at school, that was a JOKE. Just to make it clear. πŸ˜€ )

So we talk about it. I sulk some, she nods some. I sulk more, she nods some more. Then I ask her if I could still try for a bonus test we give to cover for those marks, though I know I’m past the deadline.

And she agrees. See what I mean? She IS nice πŸ™‚

So I have the weekend to read for that, and I do. I read over my sister’s birthday. I read through my favourite movies. I read through rainy days :/

But I read.

And I reach on time, I even pull up my tie for a serious look!

And she refuses.

She’s already entered the marks in the final list, and she can’t change. Sorry.

Do I burn or do I burn!!!! Fine whatever, I didn’t get too good grades! But I got grades like everybody else, even close to a rival’s and damnnn, that’s NOT okay.

I vent some of it out in my role as Antony (William Shakespeare’s Julius Caesar) and I must sound pretty Roman then… and dramatic. And like Antony.

Eventually, with all that disappointment, and anger, jealousy… and a dire want for mutiny against the teachers, I just didn’t feel too good. Nibbling at chocolate didn’t help.. Wind didn’t help… Rain helped a little… I missed my best friend. And he was away…

Sadistic day… dismal even…

And then there’s a turn.

“Ruchika, meet me outside after class.”

The English teacher. Ohkay… So while I’m cursing everyone to sit their idiotic asses down and shut their idiotic mouths up, has she actually come up with some compensation?

After class she somewhat forgets she asked me to come out and I run after her. Then she tells me….

(She’s an angel!)

“Ruchika, come for the test in the next class, I’ll be in the faculty, and I have yet to enter some marks so I can change it.. So, come then.”

“Ma’am.. if you’ve entered them.. I understand I was late-”

“No, it’s okay. I understand.. I can do this much, specially when I know you work for it. Had it been someone else who I know is just here for the marks I wouldn’t. But you have been working and I can do this…”

That’s right! I work! YESSSSSS man! THAT’S MORE LIKE IT!

Day’s looking better already huh πŸ™‚

I got the grades. Finally πŸ™‚

So what do I do now, backspace the entire post? πŸ™‚

And magically, ABSOLUTELY magically, my friends become fun too! They’re back to their usual craziness. Like what, I’ll tell you..

Nome of them is a big fan of marriage. They almost condemn it like top critics. They frown and shrivel their nose and what words they use would scare a new bride to bits! So when I heard them talking of EXTRA-marital affairs, I listened. Woaaaahhhh. Not just any extra-marital affairs, THEIR OWN.

WHAT?!?!

They planning on getting married AND having an affair? They PLANNING?!

Now this is interesting. Vansh is planning on giving his wife all the freedom.. but to a limit πŸ˜› She can’t have an extra marital affair though. Tut-tut!

Nisha and Ria have decided they will DEFINITELY have one affair. Because, come on, “it’s a dual source of treats” (Ria) and come on, “one boy for the REST OF YOUR LIFE??? Let’s be practical” (Nisha).

Of Course the names are changed, or they’d kill her.

Of course they were joking.

Of course I breathed free when I realised they were.

πŸ™‚

But wait.. they’re not done. πŸ™‚ Vansh wants a wife who plays Play Station! But obviously, she shoudn’t be able to beat him. I ask him, politely mind, if he has some match making site in mind for that kinda specification… or if his radar is on already. And to that he grunts Imagine! As if he was talking sane himself!

And that was just the beginning… Then I met a long lost friend, yapped and yapped abut music to two fellow junkies, got gifted chopsticks by a real tight friend cause it was “about time I learnt how to use them” (I’m practising on Two Minute Noodles hehe) and there was chocolate truffle for lunch! Imagine!

Now isn’t it the best of days πŸ™‚

And wowwie… my best friend’s back. Say cheers everybody.

This won’t be the first time writing on my blog has given me something good. Maybe it’s lucky for me πŸ™‚

But let’s see for how long.. there’s still seven prime hours of the day left to decide if it’s the best of days or the worst πŸ™‚ But what’s definite.. is that these are crazy days πŸ™‚

Till then… Ta ta!

πŸ˜€

Oh and don’t forget to answer the Question! Military training one… from the options πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “These Are Crazy Days!

    Sidhharth said:
    February 11, 2013 at 1:23 AM

    With the changing times and the current generation of youth which faces tear gas and lathi charge from its nation’s police, I would choose option A. We should be able to fight back and any sort of military training in school won’t go waste! πŸ˜€

    Ruchika responded:
    February 12, 2013 at 5:07 AM

    With military training granted to everyone, uniformly, what about the goons at school that muscle their way into, well everything? They already have the intent, as well as the means, so does military training, official training have to be creamed in too?
    You know the lot.. the school bullies… or later the on road “handlers”, our desi “gundas”… already the authorities battle their brains to somehow control them… around the law necks are broken everyday.. does the ordinary man really need to be taught how to hit a perfect strike at the medula oblongta?
    Somehow, my heart shivers at the thought of the rather feeble kids and how they can easily lose their lives in a second if this be the case…
    Of course, you may say that this training can come handy for self defence. But, does everyone who knows how to read read books? I find, the compulsary training is much more dangerous than the good it can do…
    To train oneself is easy and options to learn aglore. But to make it that accessible, I just dont like the idea.
    Not a majority of the people in society face tear gas in their lives, in fact, a small proportion do (not considering whether they should or should not..) But almost everyone, in India as abroad, faces these hefty muscled men (and women) I talk about… do we need to pamper their intentions any further?

    Please tell me what you think Sidhharth…

    Starstone said:
    February 15, 2013 at 6:01 PM

    Option B… Always… And yes, I’m a hippie, so shoot me, but it is NOT the job of the School to teach anyone how to kill… the school is a place for education and tolerance, a place where, in a perfect world, people would be taught how to avoid wars, rahter than train for them….

    if anyone wants to defend their country, they can join the military….

    And I am always a little freaked out when you write things like “Of Course the names are changed, or they’d kill her.”
    You are joking, right? please say you are joking…

    And by the way, congrats on the good grades πŸ™‚

      Ruchika responded:
      February 17, 2013 at 5:33 AM

      :’) You have no clue how good i feel reading your comment… sanity lives! πŸ˜€
      I agree to your reasons, school is not where you train to kill. Crazy how the school can idealise this father figure we have, and his morals of non-violence, and still say Answer A is right..
      As to the statement, slight error I didnt notice earlier. I meant to write “Of course the names are changed or they’d kill ME” and I mean it, though they won’t KILL kill me, they would just go ballistic on me πŸ™‚

        Starstone said:
        February 17, 2013 at 5:39 PM

        oh good…. πŸ™‚ *breathing a lot easier now* hehe

        Sanity lives, I don’t think anyone has ever said that about me before πŸ˜›

          Ruchika responded:
          February 20, 2013 at 5:33 AM

          πŸ˜€ I’m saying now!

What say you? What thinks you?

