Festival Incoming

Posted on

Half an hour ago, I halted reading for the upcoming exams cause I got hit by the craziest idea for my next blog post. (And that, is awesome!) So I logged on at WordPress, and well, by default opened a tab for Fb too.. and all was lost. :/

One point ninety nine seconds later I was attacked, I repeat ATTACKED by notif pings and chat pop-ups and events I had signed up for and MANNN! WHAT A GOOSECHASE!

Then WordPress tempted me in even further, the ruthless candy-tongue! I had some notifications up here to check on and that landed me on one such-a-cool-blog that I was like, did this guy just follow me??? (Yes, he did!)

So here I am today, photogenic shirt on, mug of buttermilk in hand, being the complete model of movie stillshots, and smiling dummy-ly having lost my precious idea. Gotta love it, it’s almost a competition between forgetting them and jusssst keeping them from being forgotten.

The world can go from beautiful and pastel shaded to bleak and breaking in seconds, let me tell you that much.

And then the heavens knocked πŸ™‚ Or, in this case, my dear poor sister. Literally, knocked. I had headphones on and all… But anyway, the point being, she gave me another idea, the little angel πŸ™‚

I’ll clear this out first thing. I am not an ambassador for India or anything India. Not now, not ever. Yet, it’s kinda fun when I post about upcoming festivals, of which India has a load, and have people, even Indians, laugh over them. No obligations. No stuck-up-ness. No culture education. Just hearty fun, when we can get it.

So, upcoming festival, India’s second favourite (after Diwali, click to open the post in another tab) is… HOLI. (Pronounced: holy)

It’s a Hindu religious tale behind it, but the festival has more widespread participation. I’ll make it simple, and short.

There was a prince who believed blindly in Lord Vishnu. His father, the king, hated that. He wanted to be the one the people worshipped, and not God. His own son was vexing him… so much that the king grew loathing for the son’s devotion. He had him thrown off a cliff, but the Lord saved him. He had him pinned to the ground and elephants run over but the Lord saved him. Then the king remembered his sister who had a magic shawl that kept the wearer untouched by fire. He made the son sit with his sister (who wore the shawl) on a blazing pyre. But the Lord mads the winds to blow, and the shawl fell on the faithful boy. The sister died and every Holi a pyre is burnt to remember the tale. But there’s more, of course, we haven’t got to the jovial.

The king had a blessing. He was guaranteed by the Gods that he could not be killed, not by man not by beast, not by small weapons not by big weapons, not in the day not at night, neither indoors not outdoors, and neither on earth nor in space. This was in fact the reason he felt inclined to lord over everyone, and dismiss God.

The king finally confronted the boy. He challenged him, that if God was everywhere, the boy show his presence in the pillar they were standing by. The palace shook, the ground crumbled, the pillar broke in half, and out stepped Lord Vishnu. And he killed the king. It’s wondrous how he did it around the king’s blessing… the Lord came half as man, half as beast, picked the king in his lap off the ground and neither in space, did it at the threshold of the palace so they were neither inside nor outside, it was twilight, and used his claws to tear open the king, and kill him.

But we don’t go around gruesomely killing people at Holi, we do something completely different. We have water war, and colour war. We throw powdered colours at each other and water balloons and water guns, and at the end of the day, we come home drenched, hungry and looking like a Halloween parade participants. I will try and put the pics from this year’s celebration up here, the festival is on 26th and 27th, goes into two days.

(PS You don’t have to be Hindu to love Holi. Hell, you don’t even have to be religious. I am not. It’s a festival, and those just sweep you along.)

5 thoughts on “Festival Incoming

    noelheartpoet said:
    March 12, 2013 at 8:14 AM

    Sounds like a lot of fun πŸ˜‰

      Ruchika responded:
      March 13, 2013 at 3:43 AM

      Usually is πŸ™‚

    Starstone said:
    March 13, 2013 at 2:17 AM

    I love it when you tell those kind of old stories… and I am looking forward to the pictures πŸ™‚

      Ruchika responded:
      March 13, 2013 at 3:45 AM

      Will try and get them… My camera’s not quite my camera lately πŸ™‚ Plus with water bombs falling left right centre, I’ll have to find cover πŸ˜‰

        Starstone said:
        March 13, 2013 at 3:51 AM

        haha well, I’m counting on you πŸ™‚

What say you? What thinks you?

