Sodomising Literature

Posted on Updated on

Tuesday morning at school. A classmate sets her bag down at the bench in front of mine and takes out two volumes, parts of a series, and sets them down on the desk for a brief moment as she zips her bag close. And my eyes go wide and immediately I am gritting my teeth. What could possible be that horrifying about, well, books?

I’ll tell you what… Fifty Shades of Grey.

(Follow the link if you don’t know about the ‘book’. You should. It would be easy to put in a picture here, but somehow that makes me feel like I am encouraging the book… I’ll skip a picture.)

Behind her stands a goofy girl, obviously waiting to collect the volumes. So Girl 1 is lending these… these… texts, to Girl 2. And my first thoughts are: WRONG! This shouldn’t be happening! Because I know for a fact that Girl 2 is not a reader, so why the hell is she starting with graphic sexual text!

I wonder if any of these two ‘extensive readers’ have had the great pleasure of knowing, just knowing, that books like ‘To Kill A Mockingbird’ or even ‘Hardy Boys’ exist.

Nope, English literature to them will mean insane screaming of ladies in bed.

I wouldn’t really say it’s the writer’s fault that teenagers put these books on their list. But it a definitely a crime, that the reading and writing world has let these books go scott-free. I wish we had talked enough about the books that these two girls today wouldn’t casually flip through them, but have real reason, and be readers before they picked these.

An era infatuated with sex and its not-so-hushed intricate details.. THAT is what literature is for these girls.

I cannot help but say, we should have done something… I should have done something.. But if looks and tones could say everything, that other girl wouldn’t have taken those books after I articulated my thoughts at that very moment.

The girl who was lending them to her, I can still accept that she owns those books. Though she too is a rather innocent girl (innocence is subjective) she does read widely. And when a reader picks books, of any kind, there is no need to judge them. But when a girl like the second girl does that… Sad…

Owning, reading, or even liking Fifty Shades of Grey isn’t a sin… but it’s acceptable only if the reader displays some guile! Random impressionable teenagers, or even adults for that matter, that have never felt books an important thing, suddenly start saying they ‘read’ on the basis of reading this series.. NOT okay. Not for me.

Nice Vocab, said the girl who owned them. Which caused me and one of my sensible classmates to erupt- What vocab? Bondage? Masochism? What!

E L James… author of this series… I have no reason to smile back at you when I see your gleeful grin on magazines and newspapers. Its a grudge I have to carry.

I may be very wrong in my entire judgement, and if you do think I am, I would wanna know how… How does a girl as far from books as sky and land, suddenly start with E L James’ disastrous texts and start saying she reads “books”. How is that okay?

I find that an insult to literature, an insult to books in the very essence of their meaning.

In fact, I will go as far as saying this, that girl, and girls like her, don’t have any right to even go for books like that. At one point they say they don’t want to even think about a boyfriend cause having one is shameful (What?) and then they pick cheap graphic sex books. This is just wrong.

I feel like someone should defend real literature.

Honestly, I never bothered much about E L James and magnanimous articles dedicated to her and her books, and I never cared much for her books either. But today, I don’t know, I just got rattled beyond reason.

Now I am wondering if I should check the books out again, myself. I would have to, of course, cover the front and back with newspaper… Like any other book, I would give them a fair chance too. And I would read with that in mind that I am not guilty of reading just frivolous naughty books, (if it can be called that even) I read real books too.

Makes you wonder, why would someone publish it… It makes money I’m sure. But I believed publishing houses have honour.

Last word of the day… It wouldn’t have mattered if the book was rich in sexual detail… We already have a lot of those, Mills and Boons being legend… But the book is cheaply written in bad BAD English, and to put it on the same rack as someone’s real intellect is plain SHAME.

19 thoughts on “Sodomising Literature

    Starstone said:
    April 30, 2013 at 7:46 AM

    Publsihing houses? Honor? oh no, you know what they say, “there is no honor amongst thives,” πŸ˜‰

    If it’s selling, it’s making them money, and they will love to publsih it… But you keep defending real literature, just think of it this way… If they are reading something, even a book like this, they might want to read something else next. It just might be a stepping stone to get people reading, and in that case, it’s not so bad, is it?

      Ruchika responded:
      May 1, 2013 at 4:04 AM

      That would be a long shot, i think… Nobody ever read Roald dahl because they liked comics.. I mean, it’s rather unlikely. While good books will remain “heavy” for these people, these flippant things will become normal.. Oh what the hell, I am majorly over reacting. I bet I have thought about that girl’s reading list more than she would ever have wondered.. But yes, i will like to hope she goes on to read more… I do hope…

      PS, Really? Publishing houses are just business? Dang.. I was picturing something like knight’s honour. Thanks for letting me know! πŸ˜‰

        Starstone said:
        May 1, 2013 at 4:55 AM

        oh sarcasm πŸ˜› right, got it now πŸ˜›

        Sorry if I’m a bit slow these days πŸ˜‰

          Ruchika responded:
          May 2, 2013 at 8:00 AM

          Not sarcasm actually.. I did think there was a lot of honour and pride..

            Starstone said:
            May 3, 2013 at 4:10 AM

            Okay I’ll just stop talking now then πŸ˜‰

              Ruchika responded:
              May 4, 2013 at 4:30 AM

              Its the nights out Veronica, and some miscommunication πŸ™‚ No sweat.

    hno3burns said:
    April 30, 2013 at 6:53 PM

    Our culture is not an intellectual culture. Sadly we can care less for real literature. We have become an anti-culture, against intelligence, poetry, beauty and higher thought. It is all about our animal urges now.

      Ruchika responded:
      May 1, 2013 at 4:09 AM

      I did notice the sudden trend in sexually explicit novels lately, and remakes of classics in this respect too, even Jane Eyre… At one point I was wondering if people, writers, were just getting too intrigued and pulsed about sexual texts and then i said Nah, this is just a bout. But E L James did just too much… I now realise that… Common school going teens wont bother with sexual remakes of Jane Eyre.. they want some thing raw, and Fifty Shades delivers…

        hno3burns said:
        May 1, 2013 at 1:21 PM

        The idea of sexually explicit literature is overdone and banal. If people actually wanted to be artists, they would avoid it like the plague. But that’s the problem. No one wants to be a real artist anymore.

    […] Sodomising Literature (Address isn’t Available!) […]

    Zakk said:
    May 13, 2013 at 2:50 AM

    Hi Ruchika long time no see πŸ™‚
    Great post as always! I read 50 shades when it came out and thought “this is the worst book ever”. I even went so far as to force myself to forget everything about the novel. Here’s a short review i had of 50 shades in my blog.
    “While we’re in the subject of reading and annoying, have you guys read 50 shades of grey? WTF! Man…that was such an over-rated, dumb, poor excuse of a novel. The story was as inspiring and entertaining as watching fresh shit dry out. I got nothing out of it. ABSOLUTELY NOTHING! Everything I read there, I had read in my teens from cheap erotic novels and short stories sold at ISBT and book stalls in train stations. The only difference is that 50 shades was better packaged and more expensive. It’s a waste of precious time and money. I would have had a better time hiring an English guy read those cheap roadside erotic stories in a very thick English accent to me. lol. that made me laugh, wouldn’t it be awesome to hear an Englishman talk dirty in bed? β€œI say, darling, do you suppose we could fornicate tonight? With you on top of course, I seem to have twisted my back on a rather careless horse riding incident today. Oh, and while you’re at it, would you mind passing me that cup of tea?” what more can I say?

      Ruchika responded:
      May 13, 2013 at 10:30 AM

      First of all, wonderful to read your post! In all the mentions I have read about that “excuse of a novel” never once have i read something even remotely neutral, it’s always bad bad bad! Wonder how that book gets so high in ratings… And Zakk, it’s always a pleasure hearing from you! What are you upto now, what are you writing these days!

        Zakk said:
        May 13, 2013 at 11:20 PM

        As i was reading your post i was wondering if your friend had read Catcher in the rye and other such classics, then i came to a conclusion if she’s reading 50 Shades, she probably wouldn’t be interested. Never the less it bothers me when young people start reading novels with tasteless quality such as 50 and i wonder if they would ever graduate to more tasteful ones.

        I’m good by the way, a week ago my mentor, my guide, my friend and my ex boss who taught me everything i know about advertising passed away so, ive been kind of depressed, but i’m out of the doldrums now πŸ™‚

          Ruchika responded:
          May 15, 2013 at 7:03 AM

          I asked, She hasn’t read it. (She hasn’t heard about it!) I’m trying not to judge…
          Hey hang in there. May sound odd, but I know the feeling.. You really need to hang in there and I’m glad you’re better now.
          Oh and PS, you’re a writer! Just if you ever need to, you can always write it out! Cheers.

            Zakk said:
            May 15, 2013 at 10:04 AM

            you should recommend it to her πŸ™‚ i’m sure she’d love it, i fell in love it. As for me I wouldnt go so far as to say im a writer lol we ad guys are a different breed altogether. we follow no rules and have no boundaries. but i did write a short obituary on him, and its kinda weird coz i met him just 2 days before he passed away and we planned for a Manali trip etc. im getting started here and i better stop before i get too emotional. lol

              Ruchika responded:
              May 16, 2013 at 6:20 AM

              I love the book too. Manali.. you mean the one in India? Let me know if you still coming, I can be there. πŸ™‚

    Zakk said:
    May 16, 2013 at 8:48 AM

    Yeah the plan is still on to go and trek the mountains of Manali sometime in June or July. I didn’t know you were from Manali? (P.s Yes the India Manali :-p )

      Ruchika responded:
      May 16, 2013 at 9:58 AM

      Not from Manali no, but it’s close. And well, most Indians love the hills. I’ll run the thought through my family, who knows, maybe I’ll catch you there πŸ˜‰

What say you? What thinks you?

