Thank You Lulabi

Posted on Updated on

I did a course with the British Council Division near my home recently, and only once blogged about that. Now some might give me puzzled looks, these kind of things are SPECIFICALLY to blog about, so why not? Well, for the mere fact that there WAS nothing to blog about..

I talked here about a Conversation Club I attended after class at the same place, and here about a story I wrote for class. But that was that. All I did in class was have fun, and how do you blog fun?

But then eventually the classes ended. I really was surprised by that, it felt we had only just begun. But the tests and evaluations came on, and rolled and rocked, and I failed one so bad it made me sad… But it ended, all of it. I no longer meet the others every Wednesday when I missed school and every Saturday when I hated getting out of bed so early. Sometimes I even wish I could have all of that back… but it ended.

Of course, everyone said they’ll keep in touch. I had a picture of all of us so I sent that to everyone and said, you know jokingly, that we should meet up, and the first place we visit is someone who cooks good! I hope those guys all got the picture… none of them really replied. And all of you took down my blog address, so if you read this, REPLY!

ImageUntil today.

Today I got not one, but TWO emails. And both from two lovely ladies from the group.

One of them is Shipra, the calmest of us all. Really, the first thing I felt when she came in was how peaceful she.. just looked! Unfortunately, Shipra was the one clicking that picture above. A lot of people are missing, they left early, but now I wish Shipra had been here. She works as a news reporter (I hope I got the term right, we talked who is an anchor and who is a reporter and all that). I just texted her to give me the timings of her show…

The other one, was Lulabi. My first impression with her was.. kinda awkward. I didn’t get her name right, so I called her Lullaby. Imagine that! Just try twisting that pronunciation to focus on LA and you’ll be fine. Here’s what she wrote:

Dear Ruchika,
Thank you for this endeavour n sorry for late replying. I was tied up in an assignment. Of course all of us promised to kip in touch, I will do my bit. Someday all of you should come to my place(gurgaon) and I will cook for you. I am not a great cook but I cook with great passion. After a long time I had great time being in the class and really enjoyed being a student. Definitely the credit goes to Tapsi and all of u. The course was so tightly woven that I heardly got opportunity to interact with others, especially u. Yet I found u very intense, focused and mature.I must admit that, I liked your smile and dream in your eyes. Someday you will be a great writer and I can proudly say that I know her. 
I hope your summer vacation has started. What are you doing these days? studying or focusing more on writing? Whatever you are doing you will suceed. All my best wishes are with you. Take care & keep in touch.
With warm wishes,
Lulabi
 

I don’t think she knows what that email meant to me… I really don’t think so. There is no way that I will ever lose touch with her, not after this…

I haven’t been keeping well lately. On top of that it’s 44 degree Celsius in Delhi and I feel like I am sitting on the hot metal base of a pressure cooker. I miss my friends, my best friend especially and my health is acting up like a drama queen! There’s lots and lots going wrong, and I really needed to smile today…

And Lulabi nailed it.

I really don’t think she knows what she did, but it means a lot to me that she said; “dream in your eyes.”

People forget being nice when they are hassled. We often need reasons to be nice. I always found that strange, but Lulabi was perhaps the one exception to this formula, even in class. She just treated all of us, total strangers, like neighbours, like people she knew.. It only befits that she’s a social worker. She’s a welcomer.

I can’t hope to describe what that email ignited in me, for that might just destroy the effect. I just know that I HAVE to thank Lulabi, and everyone else who was in that class with me, Shipra too, for giving me memories of happy times.

Excuse me now, for I have pulled open that section, and am now deep in living those moments again.

Signing off…

Thank you, English Evolution A2.

6 thoughts on “Thank You Lulabi

    Khyati said:
    May 24, 2013 at 11:43 AM

    Reading this post brought back so many memories 🙂 It was so much fun !!!

      Ruchika responded:
      May 25, 2013 at 1:57 AM

      Yes it was! Are you up for a get together then?

    Khyati said:
    May 25, 2013 at 11:54 AM

    Sure ! But will confirm after I get to know the date because I’ll have to schedule myself accordingly.

    anuj said:
    May 27, 2013 at 10:01 PM

    nice piece.. well crafted..

    Manish said:
    May 31, 2013 at 10:10 PM

    I was not part of class, but came across this post. And I must say that very nicely crafted post…

      Ruchika responded:
      June 1, 2013 at 2:32 AM

      Thank you! That’s the second time I’m hearing those same exact words for this post- “well crafted” 🙂 Guess it IS well crafted then. hah!

What say you? What thinks you?

